top of page
All Posts: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Michlin

Blog Entry 2

After working on my research project about the invention of the ballpoint pen, I realized that not every idea works. The first person to try to make it mainstream didn't make the design useful for everyday writing. So while a design might work for a specific task, it may not work for a more general, useful task.


My groups initial idea for the JPL invention challenge was to launch ping pong balls through a tube using an air tank. Unfortunately, the tank that we planned on using could not be approved, so we had to come up with a new solution. Because we have had to start over, we brainstormed ideas like a train car that could bring the ball to the jar and a catapult that could launch the balls through the air. Although we just agreed on this idea, we are already in the process of building a prototype of the trebuchet with the Vex parts we have in the classroom.


I am worried about how accurate a trebuchet is for throwing such light objects. We still need to finish building the prototype, and our idea doesn't seem to have all of the important details. Ping pong balls bounce easily, and we haven't really discussed how to prevent them from bouncing out of the jar. The loading mechanism we thought of also isn't fully thought out. However, I am still confident that this design will work out better than our original air tank design.


Outside of the JPL project, I have been spending most of my time practicing for the upcoming orchestra concert and frequent chamber ensemble gigs. Symphony is playing about half of the whole concert, and the group is not super consistent in rehearsals.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Entry 6

The hardest part of this engineering project is that I haven't been in class as often as I should, because of my schedule, and it isn't given me as much time to communicate with my group members in pe

Blog Entry 5

The thing that I am most looking forward to for second semester is the symphony orchestra trip to Amsterdam and Berlin! I've never been there before, and I can't wait to perform on at the Royal Concer

bottom of page