top of page
All Posts: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Michlin

Blog Entry 5

Updated: Feb 7, 2020

The thing that I am most looking forward to for second semester is the symphony orchestra trip to Amsterdam and Berlin! I've never been there before, and I can't wait to perform on at the Royal Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Berlin Philharmonie in Berlin.

For this class specifically, my group had trouble choosing a problem to focus on for the capstone project. I expect that there might not be any realistic solutions for toxic pastel dust. While it is a problem that needs to be solved, it is not known to people who don’t use oil pastels or soft pastels. Dalia introduced this problem to Abby and I, and we had to do some research regarding the issue and we had some trouble understanding it at first.


Products that are created only to make money are usually sold at a cheaper price compared to products that are made to benefit others, since those are usually made of a higher quality and are made to last. The products that are made to help people cost more to make and produce since developers have taken time to think about how well the customers like the product. They also might focus on the idea of sustainability and fair trade, which would make their products more expensive. Examples of this type of product include sustainable clothing and retail companies like Everlane and Allbirds or Cheaper products are often built to break so that the consumer has no other choice but to buy more, which is one of the reasons why those types of products are profitable. They also might require accessories, which cost more money, rather than make it convenient for the consumer. Products that are made mainly for profit include companies that promote disposability like razors and fast fashion or even technology that keeps getting updated.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Entry 6

The hardest part of this engineering project is that I haven't been in class as often as I should, because of my schedule, and it isn't given me as much time to communicate with my group members in pe

bottom of page