top of page
All Posts: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Michlin

Blog Entry 3

So I found an article about a discovery that would mean that humans could survive in space. It said that water could be made on asteroids. If the solar wind and meteoroids that crash into the asteroid are at extremely low temperatures, water forms.


They figured this out by using a meteorite that landed in Australia and made a simulation of asteroid belt conditions. Energized electrons and lasers were used to replicate solar winds and meteoroids. These scientists found that solar winds after the collision of a meteorite allowed hydrogen and oxygen to bond.


Because of this discovery, humans could potentially go on missions to the moon and eventually other planets without having to worry about how they would obtain their water supply. This could lead to humans being able to live on the moon.


This article doesn't really relate to our current JPL Invention challenge other than the fact that engineers had to go through rounds of testing in order to confirm their theory. I haven't witnessed much progress on our project since I have had to miss class, but I hope they have started to actually assemble the trebuchet by the end of this week.


Here is the link:


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Entry 6

The hardest part of this engineering project is that I haven't been in class as often as I should, because of my schedule, and it isn't given me as much time to communicate with my group members in pe

Blog Entry 5

The thing that I am most looking forward to for second semester is the symphony orchestra trip to Amsterdam and Berlin! I've never been there before, and I can't wait to perform on at the Royal Concer

bottom of page